7, avenue Pablo‑Picasso
92022 Nanterre
+33 (0)1 46 14 70 00
The project - Nanterre-Amandiers

Photo : Martin Argyroglo

The project

Since the arrival of Philippe Quesne at the board in 2014, Nanterre-Amandiers pursue an artistic vision in favor of the fertile crossing that maintains live performance with different arts and by developping the fidelity to a scaterring group of artists, performance authors, stage writers, choregraphers or steming from visual arts: Joël Pommerat, Milo Rau, Gisèle Vienne, Thom Luz, Ezster Salamon, Jonathan Capdevielle, Meg Stuart, Théo Mercier, Boris Charmatz, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Sophie Perez & Xavier Boussiron, etc.

Most of these artists and independent companies have the particularity of having build a “repertoire” of performances, attentive to extend the lifespan of their plays to allow the works the necessary amount of time to mature, and to offer to the largest audience the possibility to see and see again their performances in France and elsewhere.

The programme of Nanterre-Amandiers is also open to human sciences through the regular reception of researchers, thinkers or students, in the wish of a transmission dynamic. Therefore the Speap (Experimentation program in arts and politics of Sciences-Po) headed by sociologist Bruno Latour, is in residency every year since 2014.

A particular attention is brought to the creation of performance toward young audience and all audience with the implementation of many school and amateur workshops, in collaboration with artistic and cultural operators of the city of Nanterre, the Île-de-France region and the national and international territory.

Located in a singular geographical area, built up against a park and in the middle of an important urban mutation, the theatre is caracterized with its many areas (auditorium, grass theatre, scenery construction workshops) that allow a large support to the contemporary creation.

The CDN Nanterre-Amandiers (built in 1976) will know between 2020 and 2022 a huge renovation, from the stage machinery to the hub, as well as the creation of a 200 seats third auditorium and ten residency studios for artists. The activity of the theatre and the programme will be organized in the scenery workshops during the works, in punctual partnership with external venues.

7, avenue Pablo‑Picasso
92022 Nanterre
+33 (0)1 46 14 70 00
Projet - Nanterre-Amandiers

Photo : Martin Argyroglo

Le projet

Depuis l’arrivée de Philippe Quesne à sa direction en 2014, Nanterre-Amandiers  poursuit une ligne artistique en faveur du croisement fécond qu’entretient le spectacle vivant avec les différents arts et en développant la fidélité à une constellation d’artistes auteurs de spectacles, écrivains de plateau, chorégraphes ou issus des arts visuels : Joël Pommerat, Milo Rau, Gisèle Vienne, Thom Luz, Ezster Salamon, Jonathan Capdevielle, Meg Stuart, Théo Mercier, Boris Charmatz, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Sophie Perez & Xavier Boussiron, etc.

La plupart de ces artistes et compagnies indépendantes ont la particularité d’avoir construit un « répertoire » de spectacles, soucieux d’allonger la durée de vie de leurs pièces pour permettre aux œuvres le temps nécessaire à la maturation, et offrir au public le plus large la possibilité de voir et revoir leurs spectacles en France et à l’international.

La programmation de Nanterre-Amandiers est également ouverte aux sciences humaines à travers l’accueil régulier de chercheurs, penseurs ou étudiants, dans le souhait d’une dynamique de transmission. Ainsi le Speap (Programme d’expérimentation en arts et politique de Sciences-Po) dirigé par le sociologue Bruno Latour, est en résidence chaque année depuis 2014.

Une attention particulière est portée sur la création de spectacles en direction du jeune et tout public et par la mise en œuvre de nombreux ateliers de pratiques scolaires et amateurs, en collaboration avec les acteurs artistiques et culturels de la ville de Nanterre, la région francilienne et le territoire national et international.

Situé dans une zone géographique particulière, adossé à un grand parc et au milieu d’une importante mutation urbaine, le théâtre se caractérise aussi par ses nombreux espaces (salles de spectacle, théâtre de verdure, ateliers de construction de décors) qui permettent un large soutien à la création contemporaine.

Le CDN Nanterre-Amandiers (construit en 1976) va vivre entre 2020 et 2022 une rénovation de grande ampleur, de la machinerie scénique aux espaces d’accueil, ainsi que la création d’une troisième salle de 200 places et d’une dizaine de studios de résidence pour les artistes. L’activité du théâtre et la programmation s’organiseront dans les ateliers décors pendant toute la durée des travaux, en partenariat ponctuellement avec des lieux hors les murs.